The Office Suite Reborn

Leave a comment

November 21, 2015 by Jeff Lowen

Once upon a time I was an Apple user. Macintosh, Apple Plus… Then, I made a business decision to go where the larger market share was and jumped on the Microsoft train. Now that I’ve been carefully weaned off the Windows platform, I’ve comfortably nestled in the Google environment. Apps, Docs, Chrome Operating System. Everything.

You don’t have to be a “Tech Einstein” to know that when you’re consistent with the software and online resources that you use every day, I mean keeping it all Apple, or all Microsoft, or all Google, things just play nicer together. Exceptions to the rule yes, but that’s how I’ve rolled over the years and while I see my friends and associates enjoy many tech headaches over incompatibility, virus/malware/adware issues, etc. I’ve remained somewhat lucky.

And yes, if you’re on the internet – you’re subject to viruses. Period. But that’s another conversation.

This time, I want to share with you a list of compatible Office suites that range from the popular to the not so, but very stable, robust and free! We all know Microsoft Office, Apple’s iWork Suite, and Google Docs/Drive. None are free, but offer teaser use to get you to buy the whole enchilada. You may know that technique as the “Puppy Dog Close.” Try it, if you like it… You know the rest. I use Google Apps for Work @ $60 a year/user.

With all that said, I’ve included a list – as updated as I could find – of Office Suites that include the top three I’ve mentioned and a bunch more that many are “Open Source,” or created, maintained and updated by a person or group. Some may refer to it as free, but that’s not always the case.

Do I choose MS Office? Office 365? iWork? Do I need it to be compatible with everything? Do I want it online so I can access anywhere? If I load software on my laptop, how will I back it up? All valid questions only you can answer. And you should be asking these, too!

Check it out…

Screenshot 2015-11-21 08.26.53

Click the image

Note: Comparison of Office Suites courtesy Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

Subscribe Today!

Not a Subscriber Yet? Click Now!

Picture of Jeff

Reach Out To Us!

Call or Text: 703-665-9739

Back Issues

